“I’m going off the rails for these Crazy Books!” Ozzy Osbourne and Megadeth join DC for Dark Nights: Death Metal: Band Edition.


Okay, so that wasn’t part of Ozzy Bourne’s Crazy Train but here is something cool! According to a Press Release from DC Comics, DC announced a collaboration with seven metal music bands including Ozzy Osborne and Megadeth for Dark Nights: Death Metal: Band Edition.

Representing a cross-section of metal music from across genres and generations, each special edition will feature a variant cover spotlighting a different metal band, an introduction from the band, and an exclusive interview. The lineup includes:

Issue #1:           Featured band: Megadeth
                          Cover artist: Juanjo Guarnido

Issue #2:          Featured band: Ghost
                          Cover artist: Werther Dell’ Edera

Issue #3:           Featured band: Lacuna Coil
                          Cover artist: Timpano / Antonio Fuso

Issue #4:           Featured band: Opeth
                          Cover artist: Mathieu Lauffray

Issue #5:           Featured band: Sepultura
                          Cover artist: Albuquerque / Pedro Mauro

Issue #6:           Featured band: Dream Theater
                          Cover artist: Santi Casas

Issue #7:            Featured band: Ozzy Osbourne
                           Cover artist: Marco Mastrazzo

  • Issue #1: Featured band: Megadeth Cover
  • Issue #2: Featured band: Ghost
  • Issue #3: Featured band: Lacuna Coil
  • Issue #4: Featured band: Opeth
  • Issue #5: Featured band: Sepultura
  • Issue #6: Featured band: Dream Theater
  • Issue #7: Featured band: Ozzy Osbourne
Entertainment Earth

The international edition of the seven-issue Death Metal will launch in 13 countries in March and rollout throughout 2021.

The Band Edition will be published in eight countries as single issues – France, Spain, Italy, Germany, Brazil, Mexico, Argentina, and Turkey.

A Collectors’ Omnibus Edition featuring additional bonus content will be published in five countries – Russia, Poland, Czech Republic, Korea, and Japan.

“Dark Nights: Death Metal, from the bestselling team of writer Scott Snyder and artist Greg Capullo, launched in the U.S in June 2020. Dark Knights: Death Metal is the sequel to the smash-hit 2017-18 series Dark Nights: Metal, which brought widespread changes to the DC universe and introduced fans to the Dark Multiverse and a runaway-hit villain, the Batman Who Laughs.”

“When the Earth is enveloped by the Dark Multiverse, the Justice League is at the mercy of the Batman Who Laughs,” reads DC’s description of Death Metal. “Humanity struggles to survive in a hellish landscape twisted beyond recognition, while Batman, Wonder Woman, and Superman, who have all been separated, fight to survive.”

*PLEASE NOTE* DC did not announce whether the Dark Nights: Death Metal: Band Edition will be available in North America and the U.K. 

Thanks for reading! If you have any suggestions, news tips, or questions, email them to: webmaster@bigrednerd.com.